Dumbin’ It Down

June 10, 2010

Today I was thinking about the time my friend Eric and I had a debate about the worst insult you could ever say about someone. We landed on “dumb” because there is really nothing you can do about it. If you’re “ugly” you can try and beautify yourself; if you’re “annoying” you can stop, but if you’re “dumb” that’s it. We probably had that conversation about 15 years ago and I stand by our assessment. And let me tell you there are a lot of dumb people, through and through. (Sigh.)

I feel like I have to follow that thought up with something nice. One thing we do on a semi-regular basis with the kids is before they go to bed at night, they tell us what they’re grateful for. Sometimes it might be a toy or something material, but more often than not it turns out to be something simple, and something sweet. Tonight Addison was grateful for getting to read a book with me, and for getting to do the robot dance together. The other night Austin was grateful that his sister’s foot had healed and she didn’t have a cast anymore. It’s a sweet way to end the day, kid or adult. And it allows you to focus on the good things before you rest.

Like the fact that you’re not dumb.

Tar-jay

Next up to hit the masses at Target? British handbag line Mulberry. In theory I love the idea, but Target’s bag collections usually stink. First problem? Pleather. Everything looks cheap. Then again, I guess it is. Maybe Mulberry will surprise us. Find out in Target stores from October through December.

Good-bye, ESPN Zone

Word comes that Disney will close all of its ESPN Zone restaurants, including the one in Times Square. That’s a huge space. Come on Cheesecake Factory, this could be your time! Lunch-size Santa Fe Salads for everyone!

They call this perfectly preserved?

So 5,500 Years Ago

Did you see how they found the world’s oldest shoe? Weird.

Etc.

This is a helluva week. Make it stop!

One Response to “Dumbin’ It Down”

  1. rebecca Says:

    You crack me up. I loved that whole dumb thing and I totally agree and especially loved your sappy kid story that ended with the dumb joke.


Leave a comment