Customer Service or Bust

January 5, 2014

Happy New Year!!

I feel like people are so quick to slam companies that get it all wrong, so I am going to praise some companies who get it right. Let’s start the new year off on a positive note!

Nordstrom – People always talk about Nordstrom taking things back, but I had 2 things happen recently that have truly cemented them as a top-notch customer-service oriented biz. First, I headed to the after Xmas sales and happened to find 2 Vince sweaters I liked. One of them I was sure I had seen cheaper online, so as I slowly walked out of the fitting room, I did a quick search on my phone and found that yes, Neiman Marcus had the sweater $30 cheaper. So I went up to the register and asked if they did price matching. The saleswoman said yes, as long as you had a picture of the item online. So I showed her it on my phone, and without hesitation she matched the price. I headed home, and the next evening, I wanted to wear one of the sweaters. I took it out and — EPIC FAIL — the security tag was still attached. So I went to the other and there it was, plastic and ivory and ANNOYING. Especially because I don’t live near a Nordstrom. I grabbed the receipt and called from the car to express my displeasure and see if there was anything I could do besides schlep back out to the store. Vanessa, the manager of that department, listed to my tale and said she would call me back with a potential solution, and apologized profusely. Within 10 minutes she called to say that they would send someone to my house to take the security tags off. Fur reals! She gave me the number of who to call to arrange it, and I am happy to report that Juan came to my apartment building this morning and removed both security tags. Couldn’t have been nicer.

Sephora – Receipts get lost. But sometimes you regret a purchase. Sephora will take back their product without a receipt and give you store credit, no questions asked. Well, they may ask you why. But I like the peace of mind that the tinted moisturizer I bought, but then found a much better formula, can go back at any time. Keeps me loyal!

Space NK – If you’re into high end beauty products (and who isn’t, really? 🙂 Space NK’s N.Dulge rewards program is for you. You get $5 back for every $100 you spend on the well-edited collection. But here’s where you can get crafty: do it in the Space NK boutique in Bloomingdale’s and you’ll get N.Dulge points AND double Bloomie’s Loyalist points. Bonus!

Keepin’ it Positive

And what’s more positive than Happy, Pharrell Williams’ catchy tune from Despicable Me 2. (By the way, are my kids the only ones completely obsessed with this movie? We bought it from itunes and they watch at least part of it EVERY DAY!) Anyway, Pharrell has put together an amazing 24 hour music video for the song. Yes, 24 hours, shot in real time. You have to see it to comprehend how cool it is. Check it out at 24hoursofhappy.com.   You don’t need to watch the whole thing to get the gyst. It will start the video at exactly what time it is on your computer at that moment…you can stay there or jump around. There are celeb cameos, one of my favs being Magic Johnson, who danced at 5:36 am in his house, and shows off his amazing trophy room at his house in California! Pharrell shows up at the top of every hour. Enjoy!

Etc.

I was all set to be back into my routine and then blam! The snowstorm keeps my kids home from school and throws a wrench into things. What can you do?! Just go with it…we had an amazing, relaxing break, and I actually got lots of sleep. So much so that when I went back to work, a woman said, “You look refreshed.” And I responded, “Imagine that! The cure for dark circles is getting enough sleep!!” We should all throw out all of our useless creams and serums and just hit the hay. Word.

Leave a Reply

