Summer Salsa

July 5, 2012

Happy 4th week everyone! Hope you are enjoying some fun time this week, even if the holiday does fall on a Wednesday. (Boo!) We have the week off and are enjoying seeing family and friends, celebrating our daughter’s 5th birthday, lounging on the beach and of course, eating ice cream! (The official food of summer, really.) The only downside is that I think I have lost the ability to sleep late, which is a bummer, but what can you do. (And I am not blaming my kids here — I just keep waking up by 6:30. :()

Anyway, the other official food of summer is anything grilled, and we have been doing a lot of that too. Fish on the grill is especially tasty. Just pick any thicker, heartier fish so it doesn’t fall apart on the grill — salmon, tuna or mahi mahi are all good. And to make it really come alive, I do a lovely summer salsa:

My Summer Salsa

Mango, Red Onion, Jalapeno Pepper, Tomatoes, Fresh Lime Juice, Salt and Pepper.

Chop in bite sized pieces and mix together in a glass bowl. Serve over fish.

How much of each thing, you ask? That’s really up to you. I typically use a whole mango, half a large red onion, 1 pepper, 2 – 3 medium tomatoes, and the juice from half a lime. BUT if your guests don’t like spicy, I omit the jalapeno and use a green pepper. You can also substitute a couple of peaches for the mango. Two other tips: don’t use fruit or veggies that are overripe and thus too soft. you’ll get mushy salsa. (Frankly, it will taste ok but have horrible presentation.) You want it just before it’s ripe, but of course not too hard because then it will taste bad. And I find it tastes best if you make it an hour or so before and let it co-mingle in the fridge. The flavors really come out.

My other favorite summer foods? Peel and eat jumbo shrimp with cocktail sauce with a generous amount of horseradish, steamers, watermelon and plums. Try eating any of them and not feeling like it’s summertime!

Get naked

I had a facial recently and one of the things she told me was to use higher SPF. She was talking about my face but I am taking it to heart all over. SPF 30 at minimum, and I even got some 50. The sun is strong. And I have come to the conclusion that the only way to truly get it everywhere it needs to be is to put it on when you’re naked, before you put your bathing suit on. This goes for your kids too. That way you don’t worry about it getting on anything, and all the nooks and crannies are protected. Do it with a friend!

Etc.

I still find it odd that the DC area as well as Southern NJ were hit with such an awful storm last Friday night with no warning whatsoever. Some people still don’t have power, almost a week later. With the ferocity of storms growing, one would hope with all of the technology out there, someone could come up with a better alert system. And maybe they should start thinking about how to better preserve the electrical grid, but I know this country doesn’t like to invest in infrastructure…but I digress.

Anyway, Happy Birthday America!

2 Responses to “Summer Salsa”

  1. busymomblogs Says:

    Love the flag! The get naked, is a great idea. It always seems after a long day in the sun you realize that you missed a few spots. I’m going to try that on the kids next time.

    • familyfavs Says:

      It definitely works better for the kids — and I like to put suntan lotion on about 20 minutes before we head outside, and then use a spray to keep reapplying at the beach. Much easier with all of the sand. Happy summer!


Leave a Reply

