Stir Crazy

March 14, 2012

Well, I had knee surgery for a torn meniscus on Friday and I have had enough of being cooped up! Especially when it has been so incredibly beautiful outside. Too nice for March, frankly. I don’t mean to be all doom and gloom, but this super mild winter has made me feel like the apocalypse is coming. But maybe that’s the pain meds talking.

The good news is that I have been able to catch up on some TV that I never get to watch. I’m up to date on Gossip Girl. I’m up to date on Glee and honestly, it’s not very good. I think that one needs to go from my DVR list. But I watched the entire first season of Homeland on Showtime on Demand, and it is very well done. Claire Danes, while she’ll always be Angela Chase to me, shows she’s a really great actress in this complex role of a bi-polar CIA operative. In this day and age of extremely dumbed-down media, it’s refreshing to find a show where you think you know how it’s going to go, but it doesn’t. Mandy Patinkin also fills out his role very well as as Danes’ character’s mentor and protector inside Langley. If you haven’t watched it yet, check it out. Season 2 comes back on Showtime in September, so you have a little time!

Courage

Is that how Dan Rather used to sign off? Well, it’s what my good friend Bret Parker has, among other positive things. On Monday he bravely revealed to the world that he has early-onset Parkinson’s, which he has kept to himself for the last 5 years. (Some of you may remember Bret from his guest blogger posts here at Family Favs.) To read his essay, click here.

Etc.

Being stuck in the house immobile is highly over-rated, I must say. I’ll be happy when I can ditch the cane and go about my normal days again. I miss my workouts! But I am taking the long view and hoping a few days stuck home will payoff in feeling much better. On the plus side, I’ve tried to get a lot of things done that I never have time for. Think about things I never get a chance to think about. You know what? Maybe all of us need to take an immobile day every once and while, watch a lot of TV, put our feet up with some ice on our legs and just…chill.

Leave a Reply

