Winter Stoup!

February 17, 2012

I had lunch with one of our fave guest bloggers Denielle yesterday, and I was telling her how this winter I have been very into thick soups for dinner — stoups, if you will, since they’re halfway to a stew, really. I find that they’re hearty enough to satisfy an appetite but not too filling since I tend to eat dinner close to 9pm during the week. Denielle told me that one of her daughters is really into soup. So I feel like this is a good recipe for young and old alike — and it’s easy and healthy, too!

Turkey-Barley Vegetable Soup

(Serves 4)

Brown 1/2 pound ground turkey in olive oil in a saucepan; remove.

To the saucepan add 1 each: chopped onion, carrot and stalk celery and cook, stirring often, til softened.

Return the turkey to the saucepan and add 6 cups chicken broth (I use fat free and low sodium) and 1/2 cup pearl barley; season with salt and pepper.

Simmer until the barley is tender. Stir in 3 cups chopped baby spinach.

Voila!

It keeps well in the fridge so you can easily double the recipe and have it for it a couple of meals, or even it bring it into the office for lunch.

Keeping the Funny Alive

Because really, you’ve gotta laugh!

Here are 2 more recent posts of my pieces for NickMom.com:

Grammys My Kids Could Win

Top 9 Reasons Why Beyonce is an Awesome Mom

Etc.

My kids are off next week and I am taking a few days off and I could not be more excited…plus my husband and I are doing a belated Valentine’s celebration of dinner at Blue Hill and a concert of Mates of State at Le Poisson Rouge. Fun all around!

I hope you have something good planned…enjoy the long weekend!

 

2 Responses to “Winter Stoup!”

  1. DenBert Says:

    Trying your soup this w/e…it seems even easier than you had indicated. Love that! Thank you. xoxo


Leave a Reply

