Soap Opera

February 10, 2012

Well the Giants fans were out in full force this week, with the parade and all. Most of them seemed to be in good spirits, although I did run into a drunk one on the subway at 8:30 am! Pace yourself, my brother…

We went to see Jay-Z in concert at Carnegie Hall — fun (but late!) night. Chris Rock, Josh Groban, Russell Simmons, Beyonce and a bevy of models were in the audience, and Jay brough Alicia Keys and Nas out on stage to help entertain, along with a 30 piece orchestra (and Questlove on drums!).

The next night we headed out to a dinner party for Josh Bazell and his new book, Wild Thing. I haven’t read it yet, but I did enjoy his first novel, Beat the Reaper. That’s out in paperback and is a good read. And now the author/medical school grad may go back and finish his residency. It’s a shame when people just aren’t motivated in life! Ha ha.

Let’s talk about soap today, shall we?

Hand soap can be so blah, but I really love Savon de Marseilles. The packaging is great, and the scents are clean and fresh without being too overpowering. The last few times I have been to France I have filled my checked suitcase to the brim with all kinds of soaps, lotions and scents. And you know what? Every time I use it I think of those fabulous trips…and I want to go back!

It used to be hard to get their stuff in the states, but now they’ve got a website with everything, and the added bonus that things ship free with a $50 purchase. Check out the Compagnie de Provence here. You can use them to add a splash of color to your bathroom. All the ingredients are natural and you can choose from glass or plastic for the bottle. I have the brown glass bottle of the incense lavender olive oil hand soap, and I buy the huge refill bottle to keep it filled. The Mediterranean Sea Hand Soap is perfect for a beach house. I love these as hostess gifts if you’re spending the weekend with friends. If you already have soap dispensers, you can just buy the more economical refill bottles, but the bottles themselves really are a good decorating tool!

Leave a Reply

