That’s Entertainment!

November 22, 2011

Well I am still recovering from Regis’ last show, but somehow  I will pull myself together to write a post for you all on this march to Thanksgiving. I have to say that as much as I think they drew the whole thing out, I will miss Regis! I started watching the show when I moved to NYC a little over 20 years ago, and it was the perfect thing to have on while I finished getting ready for work. Regis would always talk about the weather, which was helpful my first two years here, when I lived in an interior apartment which made it tough to tell just what the sky was doing. (Our living room windows butted up against another building’s windows, and we were too lazy to shut the curtains so my roommate and I convinced ourselves that the guys living there were priests and couldn’t care less if we were clothed or not. Ah, youth.) Anyway, I liked how Reege would always discuss what he had done in our fair city the night before, sometimes going to the same events I went to, which somehow made everything a little bigger than life. I hope he finds his next audience, wherever it may be. I don’t want to be a naysayer, but Kelly alone has never had the same appeal.

So the tourists have descended, and a lot of them are headed to Broadway. We went to see The Book of Mormon last week, and I must say it is a fun night (although not for the feint of heart…or easily offended). In fact I realized after seeing that show that very little offends me, which I’m not sure is a good thing, but it just is. The guys from South Park, and the guy from Avenue Q, who I feel like never gets mentioned in the mix, have taken their perceptive and humorous powers to skewer organized religion in general (through Mormonism) and everything from Disney to celebrities to Orlando and everything in between. The songs are catchy, and, let’s be honest, these guys get away with all of this because deep down, no matter how outrageous, what they say is true! It was a packed house, and it’s probably sold out for a while, but get yourself some tix. It will give you something to look forward to!

Etc.

Well, I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving, filled with lots of tasty side dishes. (Because it’s really not about the bird, right?) I’ll be bringing banana pudding from Magnolia Bakery, because sometimes pumpkin pie just doesn’t cut it.

Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

