Turning Trash Into Art

February 19, 2011

OK, this week was a little crazy, so I’m a day late with the post…but isn’t anytime a good time for Family Favs??

Here comes guest blogger Bret with his latest obsession:

For years, I’ve walked around my neighborhood on the upper upper east side (my downtown friends consider it Canada) and noticed amazing chalk-written inspirational notes.  The most common one was “Become Your Dream” accompanied by a simple drawing of a goldfish seemingly jumping out of its bowl.  They were so witty and thoughtful, often leaving me thinking all day, but the messages were fleeting.  Chalk drawings would appear and then get washed away by rain.  I would see a whole bunch in a week and then nothing for months.  I once recall a note (in chalk on the sidewalk, of course) about an exhibit and wanted to go, but laziness overcame curiosity.  Well, it had been a while  . . . until the recent snowstorms.  Hidden among the piles of trash frozen in place surrounded by snow, the notes appeared all over my neighborhood again drawn on discarded mattresses, cardboard and other junk.  One was even outside my building (see above).  I couldn’t take it any longer and finally did a little research.  Turns out that these are the work of a real Spanish Harlem artist – James De La Vega.  He had a museum on St. Mark’s Place, a fan page on Facebook and was relatively well known.  De La Vega.  Unfortunately, I’m too late and his museum closed in the fall.  See De La Vega St. Marks closes.  But you’ll see — he’ll be back and bigger than ever.  Don’t take my word for it, take his:  Recent interview.  Next time I’ll follow my dream and go check him out.

Single of the Week

Here’s Ken — running this one against my better judgement:

I hate to take a review of a really great song and make it all ass-centric, but have you taken a look at Alicia Key’s U.S.S. Ticonderoga-class booty? Enlist me to be the rear admiral on that vessel! My flag is already standing at…ok, you get the idea. If L. Ron Hubbard creates a religion centered around that rump roast, count me in!

Check it out here.

Etc.

Heading to warmer pastures, so next week Family Favs will be on hiatus…back soon!

Leave a Reply

