We Call It Maize Bread

December 9, 2010

Here’s the lovely guest blogger Denielle with the quick and easy cornbread recipe that’s been missing from your life…

Even though Thanksgiving’s over, anytime is a good time for corn bread!

While nothing is simpler than a $.79 box of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix, in my opinion, you get what you pay for.  If you are looking for a relatively-easy-to-make, always moist-and-tasty, not too sweet, not bland at all, definitely homemade-feeling side, I have the cornbread recipe for you!

Not to call myself a connoisseur, but I’ve tried a few cornbread recipes. For a while my go-to recipe involved sifting some of the dry ingredients together. But at the end of the day, sifting is a chafe. I’m a measure and mix kind of cook – no sifting, dividing, kneading, rising, folding or anything else in my kitchen.  I prefer my cornbread moist, but not sweet, corn-meal present, but not coarse and no pieces of corn or jalapeno or anything else hiding inside.

One final note: this recipe is very kid-friendly in that you can’t really mess it up. My 5-year old LOVES making it and eating it!

Ingredients:

1 ¾ cups of flour

1/3 cup yellow cornmeal

1 teaspoon salt

2 rounded teaspoons of baking powder

2 eggs

1 cup milk (I’ve used every milk from skim to whole – all work well)

¼ cup melted butter (unsalted preferred)

Steps:

Mix all dry ingredients together. Whisk eggs and milk in a separate bowl and add to dry mixture. Mix. Add melted butter and mix again.

Bake in a 9”x9” greased pan at 350O for 30-35 minutes.

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

