Pork Loading and Hydration

November 4, 2010

I can honestly say I never thought a post on my blog would have this title, but what guest blogger Bret wants…

With less than a week before the New York City Marathon, my mind has been turning to food and the traditional carbo-loading that runners enjoy (or endure, depending on your point of view) in the days before the big run.  While there will be plenty of time for bread, pasta and the traditional pre-race foods near the end of this week, last week I grabbed lunch with my friend Rand at Porchetta, 110 E 7th Street.  I had been promised an awesome pork sandwich, but when I walked into the hole-in-the-wall “restaurant” I figured I was going to be disappointed.  Man, was I wrong.  It was one of the most delicious and moist pork sandwiches I’ve ever had.  Even more incredibly, it seemingly had no sauce but when I bit into the sandwich . . . let’s just say it was like butter (and was probably cooked in something not so healthy) on an amazing roll.  Luckily, I could eat without guilt knowing I would be running the marathon soon.

And speaking of that, one must have plenty of fluids when running or eating a tasty sandwich.  Since Porchetta is tiny, with seating for very few, we carried our sandwiches a few blocks to Ten Degrees, 121 St. Marks Place, where they were serving 2-for-1 drinks.  Great beers and cocktails at a great price with excellent tunes playing on the stereo .  And they didn’t even mind that we brought our Porchetta meal and dined inside their place.

Now I feel ready to run.

Leave a Reply

