Chi Town

October 25, 2010

I hadn’t been to Chicago in quite a while, but I had to head back there for work last week. The city looked good, and the bitter wind hasn’t kicked in yet, so that made it even nicer. The shopping on Michigan Avenue really can’t be beat. I had no time to partake, and I really wanted to go to the Gap, because they test market in Chicago, being that it’s a big city but in middle America. Years ago I got some Gap body stuff there before it was available anyplace else. Oh well. If I had more time I also would have hit up Ikram, which is a well stocked boutique where Michelle Obama gets a lot of her finery.

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton/Four Seasons. Unclear why it’s both, but with both of them behind the property, really, how could you go wrong? The lobby on the 12th floor of Water Tower is kind of a drag, with all of the different elevators. But the fountain in the lobby with the floor to ceiling windows truly is spectacular — at the very least have a drink there. It does give you easy access to Water Tower, which features a bevy of stores including Cusp, Neiman Marcus’ answer to Barneys Coop. Food Life downstairs offers excellent sandwiches, and I highly recommend the oatmeal for breakfast. It comes with dried cranberries, sliced almonds, raisins and I asked for brown sugar and milk on the side. It keeps you fueled on the go.

For dinner we hit up Hugo’s Frog Bar and Fish House, which is the gang who owns Gibson’s Steak House’s answer to fish and seafood lovers. We sat right next to three of the Backstreet Boys. I don’t know if that means a reunion is in the works, but the Boys do like to chow down. My coworker Julia and I sampled a little bit of a few different things — I got the stuffed lobster, she got crab cakes. We had crawfish mac and cheese and double stuffed baked potatoes. Then we split a Muddy Mud Pie for dessert, which could have fed 12 comfortably. A little ridiculous, but all of the food was super tasty, the place was packed and we had a great time. Definitely recommend.

Before I knew it it was time to fly home. O’Hare has a few more food options than the culinary hell that is LaGuardia. I recommend buying something and carrying it on for lunch or dinner — no matter what you choose, it’s guaranteed to be way better than whatever they’re selling on board.

You’re my kind of town, Chicago! I’ll have to come back sometime soon.

Etc.

Why do the weekends always go so fast? Austin told me tonight he loves Saturdays and Sundays because he gets to spend time with me. How nice is that?

I am attempting to go to bed before 11pm to start my week off right. I am always tired and I have eternal dark circles. I am going to try and get it together!

Leave a Reply

