Here Comes the Rain Again

October 6, 2010

I have to leave for the airport at 5am on Thursday morning and I am already freaked out about it. Last Thursday morning I was in Philadelphia and I had to wake up at 5:15am and I was so paranoid I was going to oversleep that I woke up at 4:30. And it was in the middle of the monsoon that hit the East Coast so it made it all the more dark and dank. (Philadelphia got over seven and a half inches of rain.)

The rain really does take a lot out of everyone. I definitely notice that after several days of gloom and doom the city has kind of a pall over it. Everyone seems low energy. My pilates studio flooded. We have a leak we’ve never had before, right over our bed. My kids are sick of their rain slickers.

But we all go on, hoping that the sun will come out tomorrow, as someone once sang.

Did someone say music?

Given that I have to travel toward the end of most weeks until Thanksgiving, the Single of the Week will be shifted around somewhat. So tonight, here’s Ken:

If you’ve been wondering how to hallucinate without using any illegal or over-the-counter narcotics, here’s how: Enter a hot dog eating contest. Do your damndest to win. Go home and lie in bed. Listen to some expansive, experimental art pop by Glasser (aka Cameron Mesirow). Take part in a pooping contest (an eating contest is really just a prelude to a pooping contest). Feel the sweet vibes.

For my Australian friends

We have some loyal readers in Australia, and this is for you: Stella McCartney did a line for Target in Australia! No word yet on whether it will ever hit stateside (probably not), but those of you Down Under should definitely partake. It looks promising. And BTW, I had no idea you have Target in Australia!

Etc.

I finally finished going through all of my kids’ clothes and switching from summer to winter. It really is a job. Not only do you have to switch over, but it involves a lot of weeding out of what doesn’t fit, which means some trying on, which ultimately involves tears and bribery. Then I have to sort it: what goes to my sister, my friend, consignment for summer, consignment for winter…like I said, it’s a job!

Hope your week is going well!

Leave a Reply

