Gooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaallllllllll!!!

September 27, 2010

This weekend capped off my 10 week Couch to 5k running program. By way of explanation, you have to take into account with this whole thing that I have been extremely busy at work, sometimes working well into the wee hours of the morning, we were on vacation where I really wanted to just veg and decompress, and with back to school and everything else it really has been quite bananas this month, especially. But I was so committed to this goal I had set and this program I was on that I never missed a day of running, through all of it. (I did have one week early on — I think it was the second week — where I got a nasty, nasty stomach virus and couldn’t get out of bed, so that did push me back one week. Other than that, it was ON.)

I should also say that I HATE RUNNING. I really do. I can make it interesting if I do a run/walk, high incline/low combo, but just to keep on running on the treadmill pretty much sucks. Give me the elliptical or the recumbent bike any day.

My trainer asked me if I stayed on the program because I was addicted to the running and I think I shocked him with my answer: it wasn’t the running at all. It was that I had set a goal and I was determined to meet it, and if I didn’t run it would set me back. So I stuck to it and kept going…and today was “race day”!

My husband was away this weekend but my gym has free childcare (!) that I had never used. I signed my kids up and brought them along, so determined was I to do this. I got them settled and managed to secure one of my more favorite treadmills. I brought my ipod, which made me a little nervous because I typically watch TV in the morning, but I thought music might be good. It ended up being all George Michael for the whole run…Freedom!

My time wasn’t great, but I did it. And not that I didn’t know this before, but it reminded me how much of a goal-oriented person I am. Seriously. And I suggest that to all of you, particularly for an exercise program. I went to the gym five days a week every single week before I started this program. But I never sweated more than when I was pushing myself to run farther each time. I like that I had a known end point and knew what I had to do to get there. It feels good to achieve!

So now what? I think I’m going to stick with the running. Though I don’t like it, my body is much stronger and my endurance is great. And my goal now is that I’ll run another 5k in 5 weeks or so, and see if I can best my time.

Etc.

My great friend Suzanne took me out for my birthday this weekend, which was so nice, and I celebrated both my birthday and my run with a hot fudge sundae for dessert. Sweeeeet! I was thinking I should take myself for a foot massage.

My allergies have been horrific this fall. it’s really bizarre. I never remember taking any sort of allergy medication in the fall, only spring, and this year I’m miserable without it.

A new week is almost here…Hope you all had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

