Shrinky Dinks 2010

September 10, 2010

When I was a kid we were fascinated by Shrinky Dinks. How could these things work? You color them, put them into the toaster oven and voila — out comes this little, hard plastic piece of art. And you could watch it transform! They would shrivel and shift as they molded into their tougher selves.

Recently I bought Creativity for Kids Shrinky Dinks Alien Invasion. These are even cooler than the Dinks I remember! You can punch holes and make key chains, link pieces together to create scary loose-limbed aliens, hang charms from a day-glo pen and put together stickers to affix to a sparkly notebook. And still the kids are fascinated by the instant shrinking! (The toxic smell that comes along with it is a tad concerning…)

I totally recommend it as a rainy day activity, and it makes a great gift. They say it’s good for 7 years old and up but I did it with my 3 and 6 year olds and they both loved. Definitely needs some adult supercision to cut, punch holes, bake and then affix a bunch of little metal rings. Bet you’ll have fun doing it too!

I bought them at Kidding Around on 15th Street for $15. Target.com has them here. They make different themed kits, so you can pick one that fits your kids’ personalities best.

And…shop!

Created last year to help fight off the doldrums of the recession and get people out to start spending again, Fashion’s Night Out is September 10th and chances are your favorite store has something fun going on. I really have no time but I think I may slip out in my hood for a little fun from 6 – 10pm. Jeffrey has limited edition Proenza Schouler messenger bags. Alexander McQueen has some cool limited edition skull bracelets. Tiffany will have Mark Ronson spinning. Barneys has Mary Kate and Ashley Olson judging karaoke and other designers playing ping pong…the list goes on and on. You can check it out here — and this year it has spread beyond NYC so chances are you can find something fun to do in whatever fashionable city you’re in!

Single of the Week

Take it away Ken:

This would be just another attempt at upbeat-profane dissonance if it didn’t mine the catchy funk of Motown so ingeniously. But what do you expect from a dude that dressed up as Darth Vader to perform a song at the Video Music Awards?

(For the foul mouthed but super catchy video. click here!)

Etc.

There was a lot going on this week and I wasn’t sure I would make it through intact but so far, so good! And I even managed to stay on my Couch to 5K running program. Two weeks left! I have to say, even though I detest running, I do think it’s good to have a goal with your exercise program. I was going 5 days a week to the gym but I felt like I was going through the motions. This has given me more focus and I have definitely pushed myself, which is great. Not sure what I will do once I reach my goal!

The weather has cooled off here and it definitely feels like Fall is on the way. Summer 2010, we hardly knew ye!

Happy New Year to all of you who celebrate the Rosh.

And on Saturday, wherever you are, please take a moment to think about what happened on September 11th, 2001. I will never forget that day as I saw the second plane hit the World Trade Center from my living room window. It’s a crazy world.

Leave a Reply

