To Buy or Make? That is the Question!

July 20, 2010

Summer gives lots of good dining options, particularly if you have a grill. (I should take this moment to point out that Bret scooped the Times by a year on his beer can chicken right in these very pages. Check out the Times article here. And then read Bret’s post here.) Anyway, everyone knows that tasty meat on the grill means one thing: marinade. Here our own guest blogger Michelle lets us in on 2 different marinade options. Yum!:

I love making my own marinades, but sometimes I just don’t have the extra 5 minutes.  If you do buy, I recommend reading the ingredients.  If the first ingredients are water, or high fructose corn syrup, or salt, I wouldn’t buy it.

I recently found a yummy Korean Soy Ginger Marinade at Stew Leonard’s for $5.99.  If you can’t get to Stew’s, you can buy it online here.  I chose this one in honor of my Korean nephews.  It’s made with real ingredients and is very delicious.  I marinaded boneless skinless chicken thighs all day.  I grilled them on a low heat (350 degrees) for 11 minutes on each side.  They melted in your mouth and the kids loved them too!

If you do have the extra time, below is my favorite London Broil marinade from Bon Appetit magazine.  I’m sure it would work well on any steak.  One of the great things about this recipe is that I have all of the ingredients on hand.

  • 4 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 4 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano, crumbled
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil, crumbled
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme, crumbled
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes
  • 2/3 cup olive oil

Combine the above ingredients for a 2 – 2 ½ pound London Broil.  Put London broil in a large resealable plastic bag and pour marinade over it.  Seal bag, pressing out excess air, and set in a shallow dish.  Marinate meat, chilled, turning bag once or twice, overnight.

Grill meat, marinade discarded, on an oiled rack set about 4 inches over glowing coals, turning each once, 9 to 10 minutes on each side, or until it registers 135°F. to 140°F. on a meat thermometer for medium-rare meat. (Alternatively, meat may be broiled.) Transfer meat to a cutting board and let stand 10 minutes. Cut meat diagonally across the grain into thin slices.

Happy cooking and eating!

One Response to “To Buy or Make? That is the Question!”

  1. Kara Says:

    This marinade sounds amazing. I can wait to try it the next time I make London broil! Along with a great marinade, for me it is important to know where the food you consume is coming from. I work with La Cense Beef which is an approved USDA grass fed program (100% grass fed beef). The La Cense ranch is located in Montana where they ranch, sell and package their meats to sell directly to consumers. The next time you make london broil steak, I would recommend trying grass fed Black Angus beef. Believe me, you will taste the difference!


Leave a Reply

