Come On, Couch Potato

July 15, 2010

We were with our friends Larry and Gena over the weekend and they are in love with their i-phones (who isn’t, really?). When the dang things are available on Verizon, I’ll fall in love, too. But Gena told me about an app she downloaded: From Couch to 5K. Essentially it’s a running program to get people running 3 miles in 10 weeks. I thought it was a great idea, so I went all 2008 and found it on the internet here. I like it because it seems extremely doable and it’s a simple, well laid out plan. I have been looking for something to change up my workout routine a bit, so I started the program on Monday.

I’m not exactly coming from the couch since I work out five days a week, but when I hit the treadmill I tend to do a run/walk combo. I want to see if I can get myself to where I’m running 3 miles straight. The first several weeks of the program are much less than I would normally do at the gym, so I’m working the routine in as part of my larger workout. I do it first — Act I, if you will.

I highly recommend it for someone who is looking to start up an exercise routine and who is goal-oriented. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Reservations for 2?

It’s Restaurant Week here in NYC this week and next, where some of the city’s finest serve up a 3-course lunch for $24.07 and dinner for $35. Union Square Cafe opted out this time around, but just about everywhere else is in. Check out the full list here, and if you have an American Express card, register it and you can get $15 back if you visit 3 or more restaurants during Restaurant Week. Making the meals that much tastier. I am crazy busy this week but I have plans to indulge next week!

Trader Schmos

I believe I wrote previously about my vow to never go to the Trader Joe’s on 14th Street ever again after I waited in line for over 30 minutes to pay and then as I was reaching the front, Austin had to go to the bathroom. BUT this week a new outpost opened in Chelsea on 6th Avenue at 22nd Street, where Barnes and Noble used to be. So I will once again brave it and see if this one is any less of a zoo. I’ve recommended many of their products and as long as the crowds aren’t too bad, it’s a great resource, particularly for frozen foods. Early reports say the aisles are wide and the shelves are stocked, so fingers crossed!

Etc.

Remember when every day wasn’t close to 90 degrees and humid? Yuck! And there doesn’t seem to be any relief in sight. I feel like it’s affecting my daughter’s mood, too, which is always fun. Crankmeister in the house!

Hope you’re feeling good — there’s a breeze tonight, so that’s something!!

Leave a Reply

