Cruelty-Free Hair

June 9, 2010

I was reading an interview with Joan Rivers, and I had to laugh at this:

What’s your best joke?
Men couldn’t care less about brains. No man ever put his hand up your dress looking for a library card. That’s one of my great jokes because it’s so true.

Oh, Joan.

I have started a shampoo experiment, because I am trying to find a shampoo and conditioner that work for my hair and don’t include lots of disgusting, potentially harmful ingredients like parabens. It’s very hard to find — I scoured the aisles at Whole Body and most of them either seem too crunchy granola for me or I have bought them and they don’t clean very well.

But I like the John Masters Organics line — it smells nice, it actually seems to work and the packaging is simple and lovely, which is an added bonus. Plus it’s not too ridiculously priced. I should preface the recommendation by saying that I like my hair a tad on the dry side — I truly have a wash ‘n wear style and the dryness seems to help it. I’ve been using their Evening Primrose Shampoo for Dry Hair, along with their Rosemary Peppermint Detangler, and they seem to work well. The shampoo doesn’t have a lot of lather, and I don’t have dry hair to begin with and my hair is definitely a bit drier after using these products, so if your hair tends to be on the dry side and you don’t want it that way, this shampoo/conditioner combo is not for you. For everyone else, I think it’s a great option to break out of the hair products that are chock-full of crap. If you eat organic, it stands to reason that everything you put on your body, day in and day out, should be organic as well.

John Masters Organics seems very serious about this, as they have a very strict ingredients policy:

1. No sodium lauryl sulfate, parabens, DEAs, MEAs, or TEAs
2. No GMOs (Genetically Modified Organism)
3. No petro-chemicals
4. No animal testing
5. No artificial colors, fragrances or fillers
6. Ingredients must be as organic as possible
7. All plant extracts and essential oils must be certified organic whenever possible
8. All essential oils used must be steam-distilled and not extracted with propylene glycol – which kills the effect of the oils
9. All plant oils must be cold pressed, not heat distilled – which kills the therapeutic properties of plant oils
10. All ingredients must be proven to be beneficial to the hair or skin
11. All ingredients must be harvested in an environmentally-friendly manner (wild-crafted)
12. All ingredients must be bio-degradable as possible
13. Fair-Trade ingredients must be used when possible

The shampoos and conditioners run about $16 for 8 ounces and they are safe for color treated hair. They sell the line at Whole Body, there is a John Masters salon in Soho, or you can order online here. They have free shipping on online orders, they give a 10% discount to orders over $150 and they only charge sales tax in the state of New York, so shop away!

Etc.

I hope all of you had a better day than mine was today because mine was pretty bad. But as Annie once sang to me, the sun will come out tomorrow…

I’m not one to get all quote-y but I did like this one that my friend Nancy posted on Facebook this evening: Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you…they are supposed to help you discover who you are.

That’s a nice way to frame things, no?

Leave a Reply

