McLovin’ in Miami

April 22, 2010

Here comes regular guest blogger Rebecca:

Welcome to Miami

This past week I was in Miami with my husband on his business trip.  We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental.  It was so chic and quiet; so unlike South Beach.  If you’re into SoBe don’t go to this hotel.  It’s located in Key Biscayne surrounded by the intercoastal.  It’s beautiful to lay out by the pool or, if you’re like me, on the oversized beds on the beach, where you are waited on hand and foot.  They brought around berries on skewers and served the best passion fruit iced tea.  The pool is an infinity pool, which is always such a cool look.

One afternoon, I was sitting outside waiting for my husband to meet me and he says, “You’re never going to believe who is in the lobby.”  Yup, clearly I was not going to guess.  Although, Disney star was at the top of my list.  It was the kid from Wizards of Waverly Place.  Of course, the minute my daughter and her friend heard this they scream into the phone at a deafening volume “GET HIS AUTOGRAPH!!” Now, I look young, but compared to a kid, I’m ancient. So I saunter over, like no big deal and go up to this teenager and say in the most non-chalant of ways, “Hey, are you an actor?” and he’s like halulluah someone recognizes me.   “Yup,” he says, I then confirm he’s the kid from the show. I proceed to tell him how much my whole family loves his show and can he sign an autograph for my daughter.  The kid was totally psyched and I was totally mortified.  What would I not do for my kids?

The next celebrity sighting may interest you male or highly charged, teen adolescent movie lovers out there.  My husband and I get on the elevator to go to dinner and an awkward, strange looking teenager literally jumps into the elevator with us.  Which bugged me to no end.  My husband and I are discussing which floor to get off on and this uninvited interloper joins in the conversation, and starts jabbering away about what’s on each floor and where are we going, blah, blah.   He gets off the elevator FINALLY and my husband says, with a straight face, “McLovin!”  I said, what are you talking about, that guy wasn’t mcsteamy or mcdreamy or any of those names.  I never saw him on Grey’s Anatomy??  So, I’m sure you have figured out, it was the guy from Superbad.  I am embarrassed to admit that I have not seen one movie the guy’s been in. I guess that’s showing my age.

That’s a wrap on my Miami celebrity sightings…until next time.

Leave a Reply

