Let the Sun Shine Down!

April 14, 2010

Yesterday, for some unknown reason, I took the bus home from work. In almost 19 years, I have never taken the bus home from work. And if I ever wondered why, it was answered by the fact that it took twice as long to get home. It was crazy! The bus driver at one point started going through his backpack. At another point a lady got on and started bawling him out for where he stopped (or didn’t stop). It was a free for all. Well, now I know: subway for life!

The Mist

As the spring arrives and summer is right around the block, it’s time to break out the sunscreen! There are two that I am really liking, both from Neutrogena: Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock and Ultra Sheer Body Mist. They come in various SPFs; I’d recommend using at least SPF 30. I like using them as a one-two punch. The Dry-Touch lotion serves as a great base coat for the day. Put it on while you’re putting on your bathing suit. Because it’s sheer, you don’t have to worry about your skin turning white and having to vigorously rub it in. The no gloppiness factor is a definite plus. (Because it’s sheer you can use it on your face, but I actually recommend getting a separate lotion for your face, at a higher SPF.)

The key to not getting burned, of course, is to reapply throughout the day. That’s where the mist comes in. The spray is so easy to apply, and since it barely needs to be rubbed in, there’s no worries about getting sand caked in. It’s very user-friendly. I was extremely suspect about it actually working, since it was so light, but I’ve tested it throughout last summer and during a couple of beach vacations, and we’ve made it through with no redness. It passed the Family Favs test!

My only beef about these is that the Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch lotion has hardly anything in the tube. We used it on the Miami trip, and it was gone before the week was out. Kind of lame. They both run around $10; the price fluctuates a bit depending on the SPF. Available at Target or most drugstores.

Hello, Cable?!

Everyone’s marveling at how Conan O’Brien ended up on TBS, but I think the answer is very simple: they are reportedly paying him an 8 figure salary, more than he has ever made. I think he would have gone to Sirius Satellite Radio for that coin. (Maybe that’s next.) I had to laugh at his released statement when the news was announced: “In three months I’ve gone from network television to Twitter to performing live in theaters, and now I’m headed to basic cable. My plan is working perfectly.” The better news is that all of those people on his staff who uprooted their families to move from New York to Los Angeles will now once again have jobs.

We Hardly Knew Ye

One of my fav Fifth Avenue spots for unique gifts and assorted trinkets will be closing its doors: bye, bye Takashimaya. Huge in Japan, it just never took off here, apparently. I so loved that whenever I bought something there I never saw it on anyone else. Oh well…let’s hope the going out of business sale will be fruitful.

On a more positive note, the store list for the new Shops at the Limelight (seems like a joke, doesn’t it?) is out, and it sounds promising. Grimaldi’s pizza, Hunter boots, Tina Tang jewelry…check the full list out here, while I have a flashback to my early days in NYC.

Etc.

My husband is out of town for a couple of nights to give some presentations so I am single mom at the moment! Let’s hope the kids go easy on me. I got a couple of calls on my cell today inquiring about playdates for Austin. That kid really needs a social secretary — unfortunately that’s not a title I can take on at the moment!

My allergies have majorly kicked in — I really noticed it last Wednesday with my throat and my eyes starting to get itchy…I have a three year old bottle of Zyrtec pills that I am hoping are still potent. (Doctor friends who read this, please call me and tell me if I am going to permanent damage to my innards by taking them.) I saw on TV that this is one of the worst allergy seasons because we’ve had severely wet weather followed by hot and dry; recipe for allergy disaster!

Hope you’re all enjoying the week!

2 Responses to “Let the Sun Shine Down!”

  1. Bret Says:

    Never, ever take a New York City bus. I think they get paid extra to be slow.

    • familyfavs Says:

      It was seriously crazy — I didn’t want to be un-pc, but there were even more reasons why it took FOREVER. I felt like I was in an alternate universe. Lesson learned: get yer ass underground…


Leave a Reply

