Wash Away Your Troubles

March 25, 2010

Clean it up!

If you’re like me, you don’t want to feed your child fruits and vegetables that have pesticides and other dirt and residue from being shipped from who knows where, but in your haste the best you can do is buy organic, rinse it off and hope for the best. Sure, they sell produce wash, but it seems like an unnecessary expense and a way for someone to make money off our (potentially unfounded) fears about what our habits are doing to our kids.

Well, here’s a low cost way you can make a produce wash, and feel proactive about cleaning up the environment. Your environment.

Produce Wash 1
– 20 drops grapefruit seed extract, available at health food stores
– 1 Tablespoon baking soda
– 1 cup white vinegar
– 1 cup water
– New spray bottle

Produce Wash 2
– 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
– 1 Tablespoon white vinegar
– 1 cup water
– New spray bottle

Spray produce. Let sit 5-10 minutes and rinse thoroughly to wash away residue.

NOTE: The baking soda and vinegar will foam when mixed together. Make sure you use a deep pitcher and pour slowly.

Both seem doable but produce wash 2 seems incredibly easy, with things you probably have around the house. This may become part of my routine. And maybe my kids (or their kids) won’t sprout a third ear one day.

Sickly Strategy

It’s interesting to me that now that the public is beginning to understand what is in this new healthcare law, they like it. The polling trend is definitely upward, with just about half of the population seeing it as a good thing. My hope is that the Republican’s obstructionist strategy will completely backfire in the long run. I thought this piece by David Frum was interesting http://www.frumforum.com/waterloo.

Etc.

I spoke on a career panel at NYU tonight. It’s always scary how the students seem younger and younger. They’re all (understandably) trepidatious about finding jobs. I always enjoy doing these kinds of things because it helps me to crystallize my experience, and realize how much info I have to pass on and hopefully help. Plus I always meet some interesting people. I highly recommend it!

My kids woke me up at 4am this morning because Austin wanted some water, and then I couldn’t fall back asleep. I am feeling it tonight. Especially because I had a couple of glasses of red wine last night, and no dinner.

But the weekend is in sight!

Leave a Reply

