Skip, Hop and a Jump…

February 16, 2010

If you’ve ever been to a major city, wanted to use public transportation to save a few bucks but then felt frustrated by reading the maps and trying to figure out how to get from point A to point B so you hail a taxi, this site is for you. Hop Stop (hopstop.com) lets you put in where you need to go from and to, and then tells you the best way to get there on public transportation. It even lets you pick if you’d rather transfer more and walk less, or vice versa. Most major U.S. cities, including New York, Boston, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Washington, DC, are included, as are London and Paris for any trips abroad. I tend to use it in NYC when I have to go somewhere tricky, and it has yet to let me down, even when I doubt it. Like this afternoon when I was meeting the kids and Ken for dim sum in Chinatown and it told me to take the F to East Broadway and walk back to Elizabeth Street. I thought it was crazy, but when I searched other methods and then actually did the trip as suggested, it made total sense. Thanks, Hop Stop!

Etc.

Gotta love long weekends…it was one of those great ones where we had a few plans and then things kept coming up so we ended up being busy with lots of fun things. We started out Friday night by having a lovely dinner at La Carbonara on 14th Street. Relaxing ambiance, pretty good food, prices that keep people coming back — most entree pastas were around $12.

Tonight we had dinner at Cookshop. Very tasty. Had a nice Reisling. Saw Wallace Shawn (“Inconceivable!” from the Princess Bride.) But we sat next to two people on a blind date — oh my! It really made me feel like I never want to get divorced. It was so much work for them to have a conversation. The woman had apparently lost an earring on the way over, and the guy goes, “I’m a Virgo so I notice these things.” What?! Run, don’t walk, away, lady.

Hope you had a good one!

Leave a Reply

