A Wrinkle in Time

January 20, 2010

As I mentioned yesterday, I recently visited my dermatologist for my annual skin check. The other thing I always do at this visit is ask about my skin care regimen. I find that this is a good way to find out about products that actually work, and it’s a chance to address any issues. Because skin changes over time, so spots that you might not have had before appear, or dry patches that you might not have dealt with suddenly crop up — and there is an answer to all of it, you just have to find a good doctor.

So I asked her what I should do to keep wrinkles from forming. And her answer was quite simple: avoid the sun. She said the sun is what causes the onset of aging. I told her I use spf 30 in my moisturizer every day, thinking I was covered. But she said not so fast. Apparently Oil of Olay’s spf 30 for sensitive skin used to contain zinc oxide, but it doesn’t anymore, meaning the protection is less than adequate. So she gave me a sunscreen that she highly recommends, Elta MD. Their UV Physical 41 is a tinted, chemical free sunscreen that contains zinc oxide and titanium dioxide. It’s oil-free, paraben-free and fragrance-free, so there’s little room for irritation. It’s lightweight and water proof, too. I started using it and I have to say it’s really comfortable — I can’t even tell I’m wearing anything extra. And I don’t wear foundation, so the light tint gives my complexion a little boost. The only official place to buy the products are in physician’s offices. A three ounce tube was $28. (I found it for $22 online here, but then there’s shipping too.)

Anyway, whether you use Elta or something else, load on the sunscreen. And make sure it contains zinc oxide. And hold on to your youthful beauty!

Etc.

Will our long national nightmare be over? When will they just officially announce that Jay Leno will be back at the Tonight Show?

And has our long national nightmare just begun with Edward Kennedy’s Senate seat going to the Republicans? Really Massachusetts?

2010 is off to a crazy start, my friends. Buckle your seat belts…

Leave a Reply

