Carpe Diem, Baby

December 23, 2009

I have to give credit where credit is due and applaud NYC for their snow removal prowess. It’s only a couple of days out from the blizzard and streets and sidewalks are plowed, shoveled and clear. Even at most corners!

I didn’t do any shoveling, but I am one tired cookie…my pilates teacher wouldn’t even let me get on the reformer this morning for fear something would snap, everything was so tight. We did an hour of the cadillac, trying to get my shoulders, hamstrings and lower back to release. We had some success — I left there walking a little taller!

Which brings me to the topic of the day: rest. Yes, you say, I love it. But I don’t get enough of it.

In there could lie all the problems. Study after study shows that sleep is essential to our mental and physical health. Consider this: Staying awake for 17 hours straight leads to a decrease in performance equivalent to a blood-alcohol level of .05%. (This makes sense, because when I get no sleep, I feel hungover!) The Exxon Valdez oil spill off Alaska, the Challenger Space Shuttle disaster and the Chernobyl nuclear accident have all been attributed to human errors in which sleep deprivation played a role. I don’t know that I’ve caused anything of that magnitude, but when I’m sleep deprived I’m definitely crabby and irritable.

Why would I bring this up now? Because for most people, the week between Christmas and New Year’s is quieter than normal. Workloads are lighter; the phones ring a little less. Grab the opportunity while you can and rest. Read a book. Crash on the couch and watch some bad TV. Snuggle with someone you love and just stare out the window. Play a board game. Make some hot chocolate and see how many marshmallows you can stuff in your mouth. Take a nap. Go to bed early. Sleep late!

Whatever you can fit into your lifestyle, whatever makes you happy and relaxed, do it now. Carpe diem, as my friend Caesar used to say. Seize the day and then let it go by, slowly.

Because 2010 is right around the corner. And chances are, it’s going to kick your ass.

Still shopping?

There’s just about two shopping days left before the big day. Still need gifts? A lot of places have gift certificates that you can print out online. (Bliss Spa is one of them.) You can always make a gift certificate yourself and follow up with the real one after. Or give someone a card good for dinner and a movie. Or a night of free babysitting. (Okay, that last one is something I want…ha ha.) Seriously, don’t limit yourself to what you can find in a store. They say that it’s experiences and not things that make people happy — so sometimes the best gift of all is something fun you can do together. And if that fails, Neiman Marcus is having free overnight shipping, and many of their gifts are now 25% off. (Use the code QUICK.)

Etc.

I think myself and everyone I work with is slightly bitter because while everything seems to be winding down for most people, workwise, we are really busy. So everyone wants to coast into the new year, but it isn’t possible! Oh well. After seeing the report on Wilmington, Ohio on 60 Minutes, I’m just glad we have jobs.

Hope you’re all having a great week. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

