Fall Fling

September 30, 2009

This morning on my way to pilates a woman stopped me to ask where the justice of the peace was. Huh?

Anyway, given that the air is starting to feel a little crisper and we’ve all tucked summer into the recesses of our brains, it’s time to turn to a fall state of mind. And here are some things I’m looking forward to in the pop culture arena, in no particular order:

Curb Your Enthusiasm: When I first started watching this show, I found Larry David so grating that I wasn’t sure I could stomach it. But then I succumbed and realized the uncomfortableness (no that’s not a word) was so hilarious that I had to keep watching. This season seems promising, with Larry figuring out how to break up with his girlfriend who has just been diagnosed with cancer, his friend sleeping with a mental patient and the upcoming plotline where he reunites the Seinfeld cast. (David was one of the creators of Seinfeld.) It sounds crazy, and it is, but it is also laugh out loud entertainment. (HBO)

This Is It: Michael Jackson prepping for his blow-out concert series is the last performance footage we’ll ever have. Love him or hate him, he was an excellent performer, and I’m interested in seeing the final curtain come down on so many great songs. (Opens 10/28 for 2 weeks only)

Up in the Air: Yes, I make no secret of my love for George Clooney and his self-deprecating humor. This new movie of his is getting great buzz, as they say. He plays a corporate ax man (timely!) who travels around the country firing people, and somehow finds love. Some smell Oscar, I sniff a flick worth my $12.50. (Opens 11/13)

Go Yanks!: Though I miss Joe Torre, it’s time for the boys in blue pinstripes to return to the World Series and bring another ring home. This year seems like it could be the one. And while we’re on sports, I can’t wait for the Eagles to kick the Cowboys’ asses. Yeah!

Robbie Williams: I heard the first single and it kind of sucked, but I’m still holding out hope that Robbie’s new album, Reality Killed the Video Star, will recapture some of that old magic. Anything to get that freakin’ Black Eyed Peas song out of my head! (Drops 11/9)

Etc.

Back to work today — vacation is officially OVER! Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.

Doesn’t it feel like it gets dark so early already? It’s depressing how quickly things change. I forgot to wear a jacket and I left work late and it was definitely dark and chilly.

I’m still between time zones with my jet lag, and given that Addison has me up by 6:15am every day, I must get myself to sleep. Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

