Hello, Muffin!

June 24, 2009

I like these muffins because the whole wheat flour and yogurt makes them semi-healthy, and they’re tasty! I find them easy to whip up on a Saturday morning, and then everyone sits down to fresh muffins. Who doesn’t like that? Just make them before Mother Nature remembers it’s summer and it’s too hot to use the oven.

Strawberry Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup sugar
1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
2 eggs
1 cup yogurt
¼ cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chopped strawberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat oven to 375.
In a bowl, mix together flour, sugar and baking soda.
In another bowl, mix eggs, yogurt, butter and vanilla.
Toss strawberries into the flour mixture.
Then pour yogurt mixture into flour mixture and stir.
Spoon batter into greased muffin tin.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until tops are golden brown.
Yields: 12 muffins

Crispier Greens

You know when you buy a head of lettuce (or other greens) and you get it home and you’re not quite sure how to store it? Here’s a tip: wash it, dry it and put it into a ziploc bag. Then, because there’s probably still water in there even after you dry it, put a dry paper towel inside the plastic bag to soak up any extra wetness. Then store the whole thing in the fridge. When you need to make a salad, you have easy access to fresh, clean greens, and the paper towel really does help to keep them crisper, longer. This really works for all kinds of leafy greens.

Etc.

Jon and Kate…Ed McMahon…Iran — it’s really a sad day, huh? In all seriousness, I’ve never seen the Jon and Kate Plus Hate show, but of course I’ve seen the sad story plastered all over the tabloids. It’s situations like these that make me not want to watch these shows. Instead of entertaining, I find them pathetic. Essentially they’re getting paid $40K per episode to have their marriage fall apart. I really do feel for the kids. Maybe they should not be on television until they can make the decision for themselves if they want to live with cameras on them 24/7.

Last night I was falling asleep while writing my post, and tonight I am not much better. Austin decided to start screaming at 4am this morning that he couldn’t find Patrick (as in stuffed animal, as in Spongebob’s friend). He woke all of us, and then Addison wouldn’t fall back asleep. So I was up from 4 to 6:15, until she fell back asleep. I too fell back asleep but Ken woke me up at 6:54 because I had to get myself down to Tribeca for a 7:30am pilates session. When I got home I had to lecture Austin about not waking everyone up if he couldn’t find his stuffed animal. “I know, daddy already told me,” he said in that fresh, “whatever” tone that he is too young to have perfected. Please, please have let it penetrate!

Because I’d really like to get 7 hours tonight. I think I will feel like a new person!

A girl can dream…

One Response to “Hello, Muffin!”

  1. lailablogs Says:

    Sounds really delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/


Leave a Reply

