Oh Adam, You’ll Still Be a Star

May 22, 2009

090521-americanIdol-hmed-2a.300wSo the big American Idol finale was last night, and although I had not watched a single show all season, I tuned in for part of it, I was so intrigued by all of the subtext. I was so exhausted from being up the night before coughing, but I willed myself to stay awake for the winner’s reveal. So I’m sitting up in bed, half asleep, Ryan Metrosexual Seacrest announces it’s Kris, I think to myself, “Well, at least Obama won” and then I passed out. I can’t believe there were almost 100 million votes. Oh well, I guess America just wasn’t ready.

Let’s stay with music because it’s Thursday, which means Ken is here with the

Single of the Week

“Walking around the apartment barefoot last weekend, I leafed through some old journals, sorted through some winter sweaters and made one too many cups of tea. It’s times like these when I enjoy clicking through the Soccer Moms Chillout mixes on iTunes. And that’s where I found this gem by Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson.”

YouTube won’t let me embed it but click here to take a listen.

Etc.

I broke down and went to the doctor today and I really am sick! Fever and all. So I got me some meds, and hopefully things will start looking up. I’m really sick of coughing…

Walking back from the doctor to my office, I went down Broadway, and at about 54th Street, an Indian guy is standing in front of one of those souvenier shops, smoking a cigarette. He starts shouting out, “Bruce Willis! Bruce Willis!” and then taking a drag on his cigarette. “Bruce Willis! Bruce Willis!” Another drag. I’m like, “What is this guy’s problem?” because it seemed like he was directing his yelling at me. So he says it about 8 times and then I realize that, oh, Bruce Willis is walking with his VERY young wife right in front of me, bald head and all. Too funny.

If you didn’t catch Morley Safer’s interview with Anna Wintour on 60 Minutes last weekend, watch it online — highly entertaining. She is the editor of Vogue magazine, and apparently she gets a $200,000 annual clothing allowance, and the company pays for her to have her hair and makeup done every day. Her demeanor is chilly, as they say — she was the inspiration for The Devil Wears Prada. She rarely gives interviews so it was definitely a coup for Morley!

I hope you all have a fantastic long weekend. We are headed down to the Caribbean for a week so I don’t know how much Family Favs I’ll be doing. Don’t miss me too much! I’ll be back for sure at the beginning of June, if not before. Until then…

Leave a Reply

