Keep It Loose

May 15, 2009

With Addison in the hospital last week I had to cancel pilates, so when I went in this week, let’s just say between the stress and lack of sleep, I really, really needed it. When we were through with the hour, I felt great, and my teacher left me with this: “Keep stretching every day.” So I pass that along to you, as well as my favorite lower back stretch. You can do it in the gym or in the comfort of your very own home!

innerthighstretchSit down as if you’re going to sit Indian-style, but don’t cross your legs. Put the bottoms of your feet together so your legs make a diamond shape. Now lean forward (you can put your hands on the floor in front of you) until you feel a stretch. Hold for 15 seconds. Sit up and repeat. Depending on how close or far from your body that your legs are will determine how far you can go and how much of a stretch you’ll get. Now here’s part 2: sit up straight in the same position, let your knees open and relax close to the ground. From the waist, lean to the right. The key is to keep your left butt cheek glued to the floor so you get a big stretch in the waist, hips and lower back on the left side. Hold for 10 seconds, return to straight and lean to the left, keeping your right side down. I find it’s a great stretch to open up the lower back without risking overstretching or putting pressure on any other body parts. It’s an excellent “good morning!” stretch to get you going.

Oh Yeah, It’s Thursday!!

Did someone say music? Here’s the Single of the Week from Ken:

This week, we’re going to flex some dance hall funk and send a little Major Lazer across NJ Transit’s Morristown line, up into MetroNorth’s New Haven line and even, God forbid, into parts of the Upper East Side. (Note: The omission of Long Island is intentional.) “Hold the Line” features Santigold and Mr. Lexx singing over an incessant surf guitar hook, punctuated by sound effects ranging from dial tones to horses to electronic warbling. If Michael Buble woke up in hell, this is what he would be listening to.

Random

Did you know that Wal Mart accounts for 10 percent of all retail sales in the U.S.? I didn’t until today when they released their earnings (which were flat). It just made me realize how outside of the mainstream I am, since I won’t shop there. I mean, I get it — it’s cheap. But at a certain point I think we need to ask, “At what cost?” and when you won’t give people health benefits even though they work full time and you lock people in at night to clean your stores, something ain’t right. (Before I hear from Wal Mart defenders, I know they have cleaned up their act in the last couple of years but that was only after mucho pressure from state and local governments and I still hear stories about them strong-arming their suppliers, among other things.) So I choose to shop elsewhere. Apparently, most of America doesn’t agree with me!

Here Comes the Weekend

I’m so excited that the weekend is just about here! Ken and I have a date Friday night, I am going to see if MacLaren can refurbish our stroller (if it goes well I will give you all the deets), Austin and I are going to make strawberry muffins and blueberry pancakes and we have a whole bunch of other things planned. I have been on an organization kick so I have a couple more projects I want to tackle (my shoes being one of them — which frankly might take the whole weekend).

Let’s get this party started!

Leave a Reply

