If It’s Thursday…

May 1, 2009

Here’s Ken with the Single of the Week:

Lady Gaga is hiding something. Well, not really – it’s more like she’s putting up a silky, sheer facade and asking us to take a look at her wares behind it. I’m just not too sure what it all means. Her name? Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta. Her origin? Yonkers. This week’s single? “Poker Face,” a global dance disco phenomenon that follows her first global dance disco phenomenon, “Let’s Dance.” What’s “Poker Face” about? Sexual identity, maybe? Am I getting too old for this? Perhaps – I vaguely remember talking up Angela Lansbury the other week. Anyway, it’s not every day you get a well-written pop song with the line “bluffin’ with my muffin'” in it, so enjoy.

(They won’t let me embed it so click here to watch it!)

Rupert Sighting

Oh my...

Oh my...

So I was downtown at lunch today and we were walking up Sixth Avenue to the subway and who did I see? Rupert Everett!! So I was blatantly staring to see if the plastic surgery was as bad as the pictures suggest, and I’m happy to say that it is not as bad as some of the photos look. He definitely had work done, it definitely wasn’t done well, but I recognized him pretty quickly (meaning he still resembles himself). He’s pulled tight and left soft in all the wrong places, if that makes sense. Of course I had to look quickly, because the poor guy totally saw me staring at his face and quickly looked down at the ground so I couldn’t keep staring. Which made me realize everyone must be staring. And then I felt bad. But then I remembered he’s a celebrity and has made millions off of being famous, so I didn’t care. Oh, Rupert.

Swine Flu Madness

Now that everyone has gone coo coo for Cocoa Puffs over the swine flu pandemic, listen to this: apparently some woman on another floor at work passed out from dehydration and had to be carried out on a stretcher. This freaked people out, so they sent some sort of haz mat crew in to clean the ladies’ bathroom, which led to the spread of the rumor that the woman had swine flu and everyone needed to go and get tested. But in reality the woman was just HUNG OVER. OMG this is all so crazy…

Wrap Up

I just watched Lily Allen performing “The Fear” on Letterman. (I’m so behind in watching — I think she was actually on last week or the week before.) Love that song — in fact, for those of you playing at home, that was Ken’s very first Single of the Week back in January. Anyway, I haven’t heard more from the album but I think I might get it.

If you’re looking for something to do this weekend, why not head over to True Boutique and take advantage of the 20% discount they’re offering Family Favs readers? Just print out out our April 27th post about the store or let them know you’re a reader and you’ll get 20% off your purchase. (278 Mott Street)

What do you mean you haven’t entered our Yes to Carrots giveaway yet?! You like free stuff, don’t you? Send your name and snail mail to familyfavs@yahoo.com by 11pm on Tuesday, May 5th and you could be our first lucky winner of a brand spankin’ new lip tint and lip gloss.

Etc.

I could go on, but really we all have other things to get to, don’t we? (Like the list for Target that Ken is making me compile right now.) Hope you all have a fantastic, H1N1 virus-free weekend. And I really mean that!!

Leave a Reply

