Lip-Tastic

April 29, 2009

f0_0300_0000_liptints1

Regular readers of this blog know that I have been on a quest to find beauty products that work that are also natural and organic. Because when you start to read about the terrible things that ingredients like parabens can cause, you really wonder why any company would put them into their products. And so many of them do. And if you think about how much lipstick we consume on an annual basis, well, let’s just say that lippy has been first on my list in terms of finding natural ones that I like. So when the good folks at Yes to Carrots, a natural skincare line, asked me to try out their brand spankin’ new line of lip tints and lip glosses, I was excited. I am happy to report that they did not disappoint.

The C Me Shine Lip Glosses and C Me Blush Lip Tints are 100% natural and 95% organic, and they all contain peppermint oil which gives ’em a nice tingle on your lips and freshens your breath just a touch. Plus they’re packed with conditioners and moisturizers, but no nasty P’s: parabens, phenols, petroleum or phthalates. I am partial to the lip tints, but I don’t love lip gloss in general — I find most too sticky. This lip gloss actually wasn’t too sticky and the colors are nice — my favorite is Playful Nude, which is like your lips, only better and shinier. For me, it’s the lip tints that rock and I would definitely head out to Walgreens, where they’ve just arrived, and get one for yourself. For daytime, I like a hint of color and something that protects my lips. These do just that. My favorite is Ready Red, which gives just the right amount of red so you look healthy and put together but not overdone. All the colors are sheer and wearable and are perfect to stash in your purse for when you need a touch up during the day.

And at $6.50 for the lip glosses and $4.50 for the lip tints, the price is right! (In addition to Walgreens, you can purchase them online at drugstore.com.)

You Can Win Your Very Own!

Since Yes to Carrots sent me the whole line, I am sharing the wealth. One lucky reader will receive a full size lip gloss and a full size lip tint. All you have to do is send your name and snail mail to familyfavs@yahoo.com by Tuesday, May 5th at 11pm EST. We’ll randomly pick a winner and send you your very own to try!

Etc.

Between the swine flu and Arlen Spector there was so much to keep up on today!

I saw that Sarah Jessica Parker’s big “scoop” to E! News is that she confirmed Chris Noth, Mr. Big, will appear in the next SATC movie. Duh! Does that really even qualify as scoop when you state the obvious? I say no. And frankly, if the big plot involves a baby that dresses in designer duds, let’s all boycott the movie. The other night I saw the actress that plays Magda, Miranda’s nanny, on the subway platform and I was all excited. Ken was like, “Who?” (This is a general theme in our house. Last week I saw Chace Crawford, Nate from Gossip Girl, on 23rd Street, and Ken was nonplussed. I had to call someone who cared and share my news.)

Well, Austin decided to wake everyone up this morning at 5:15 because his covers weren’t right. Addison has a 104 fever so I desperately tried to get her back to sleep in our bed. But then I was up and couldn’t fall back asleep and then had to get to pilates for a 7:30am session and went about my day at work so I am TIRED! Tonight we told Austin if he doesn’t call out and fixes his covers himself there will be stickers and treats in his future. Hopefully bribery will get us everywhere.

With any luck, you will not be awakened in the middle of the night tonight, either.

Leave a Reply

