Side of Yum

April 28, 2009

images4I started getting Food and Wine magazine out of the blue (I think it may have come free with a Harry and David order I placed at the holidays). It didn’t really seem like my thing, but there are actually some good recipes inside and there is an accompanying email that contains more recipes, many of them easily doable. I saw this roasted broccoli recipe and decided to try it — I modified it a little but it was a hit with both my household and our dinner guest. Easy? Check! Healthy? Check! Delicious? Check! That means it’s a go!

Ingredients

1 large head broccoli (1 1/2 pounds), cut into 1 1/2-inch florets, stems peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick (I didn’t bother to peel the stems)

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

1 1/2 tablespoons pine nuts (I put a little more in)

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice (I used the juice from a whole lemon)

1 teaspoon minced shallots (I omitted the shallots)

Thinly sliced basil leaves

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°. On a large baking sheet, toss the broccoli and stems with 2 tablespoons of the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast the broccoli in the oven for about 30 minutes, tossing half way through, until browned and tender. (I found you need to do this for only about 20 minutes or so.)
  2. Meanwhile, in a small skillet, toast the pine nuts over moderate heat until light golden all over, about 4 minutes.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk the lemon juice with the shallot and the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Scrape the broccoli into a serving bowl, add the dressing, pine nuts and basil and toss to coat. Serve.

Italian Done Right

Ken and I really like authentic Italian restaurants that specialize in small, yummy plates and don’t just send out huge bowls of rigatoni and red sauce that the patrons proceed to inhale as if they haven’t eaten in weeks. Friday night we tried Bar Stuzzichini in the Flatiron disrict. Frankly, it wasn’t that crowded so try it before it’s gone! It’s a pleasant, large space but the real thing to go for is the food. They have all kinds of cheeses, meats, seafood and fried things like salt cod, artichokes and rice balls. Plus there are salads, pastas and other entrees, but you can truly make a nice meal from the appetizers. The orecchiette with breadcrumbs and cauliflower was somehow light and rich, and the arugula salad was just right. For dessert, the olive oil cake was spot on. Apparently on Sunday nights they do a family dinner for $26 per person, which is a great deal. The chef truly is gifted — I think it’s a tough time for the restaurant biz all around, so support the good ones when you can. (New York magazine actually voted it its Best Small Plate restaurant. It’s located at 928 Broadway at 22nd Street.)

Working vs. Stay At Home

This morning I was watching the Today show at the gym and they had a segment on about working mothers and Meredith asked if they thought there was still friction between stay at home moms and working moms. Yes! I practically shouted at the screen, as the working women concurred. Personally, I could care less if someone chooses to work or stay at home. But last year, there was a mother in Austin’s class who was a stay at home, and she would give tons of assignments out to the other mothers — every week was something else we had to do. I couldn’t take it — I was like, “lady, I do not have time to get ten different kinds of ribbon and bake a vegan cake,” but because I didn’t want to make waves, I kept my mouth shut. Then, I was at a birthday party over the summer and her name happened to come up. Suddenly, all of the working moms from the class started unloading about how they couldn’t take her assignments and how she tried to make them all feel inadequate. I was so happy I wasn’t alone! And I was even happier when I learned her kid was not going to be in Austin’s class this year. This year is so much better — we’re just all moms trying to get it all done.

Discount Alert!

If you need something from the Gap Online between now and April 29th, type in the code “FRIEND” at checkout and you will magically receive 20% off your purchase. You’re welcome!

Etc.

Now everyone is freaking out about the swine flu and I made the mistake of watching some C-Span this morning and it was the call in show where conspiracy theorists thrive and they are convinced this is a terrorist attack. So then of course I’m like, “Yeah! Why isn’t anyone talking about how this strain started?” So now in between loading my nanny up with Purell and washing my hands after every outing I am thinking about how this could be some sort of plot. If it’s not one thing that will get you it is something else. I am just so glad I planned our May vacation in the Caribbean and not Mexico. Although I bet between this and the out of control drug violence, you can get some really good deals!!!

I think a new Gossip Girl is on tonight. That would make my night. Because I had one of those “just missed the subway” kind of mornings.

RIP, Bea Arthur!

Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

