Naturally Beautiful

March 23, 2009

beautyexclusive_2044_24118377As much as I can, I try to avoid beauty products that are loaded up with questionable ingredients. Parabens are big ones — it’s so nasty to think that they would load up a body wash, for example, with stuff that may cause cancer, for no apparent reason. The parabens don’t do anything substantial, and once they go down the drain, they’re leeching into the water supply. Nice. But there are more and more options out there for products that work well and do well by you and the environment. Korres is a line from Greece that I discovered several years ago on a trip to London. The fab department store Harvey Nichols was one of the first fancy shops to open a whole organic cosmetics section, and I’m always up for trying something new. Every time I went across the pond, I’d load up a shopping bag and bring back all kinds of potions and lotions you couldn’t buy in the States. (This was before the liquid restrictions in carry-ons.) Usually once the line started to be carried here, I was over it and on to the next thing. (Lush, anyone?) But I still use Korres, even though it’s pretty widely available here. I’m partial to their shower gels, which come in offbeat yet non-cloying scents. Right now our shower is sporting the fig. The basil and lemon is another favorite. And boys, this recommendation is for you too as the scents truly are unisex. (And as much as you think your au natural, whatever soap happens to be in the shower scent is sexy, let’s be honest, you could use a little help.) They have a store down in SoHo which carries their whole line (it’s at 110 Wooster — they do cosmetics, too, which I haven’t tried), or you can buy it at Sephora, among other places. The shower gels run about $13.

Sleep Tight and Don’t Let ‘Em Bite

I have been freaked out since learning that bed bugs can jump from one person to another. Meaning that you could be sitting next to someone on, say, the subway, and if they have bed bugs, they go from them to you and then if you happen to lie down on your bed…ewww! It’s funny because way before I even knew bed bugs were actually a real thing to worry about, I always had this rule that I never wore the same pajamas after I had stayed in a hotel until they had been washed.Turns out I was on to something. You have to be careful with your kids too — we always make them take off the clothes they were playing around outside in all day before they climb up and roll around on any of our beds. It’s such a gross thing to have to worry about it, but better safe than sorry, I always say. And any way even if there’s no bed bugs, it’s just cleaner.

Weekend Wrap-Up

My sister and her husband welcomed a new baby boy on Friday night. We’re glad he arrived safe and sound and now is home in his new digs. Congrats to them!

It was nice here this weekend but frankly, I was hoping for it to be a little warmer. There’s still a little chill in the air. I wanted that whiff of spring…I guess it’s something to look forward to.

Speaking of something to look forward to, I am in the process of booking our May vacation. I get depressed if I don’t have some sort of trip on the horizon. I’m thinking a sit on the beach and do nothing place would be great. Did someone say Caribbean?

Hope you all had a good one and the re-entry into the week isn’t too painful!

Leave a Reply

