Bake and Freeze

March 19, 2009

turkeymeatloafsmToday’s recipe for turkey meatloaf is a good one — not only is it easy to make, tasty and healthy, but it’s ready to freeze so that you can pull it out any night of the week and heat it up.

Turkey Meatloaf

1/4 cup diced onion

3/4 lb. ground turkey

3/4 cup dry whole-wheat bread crumbs

1 egg white

Pinch salt

Pinch black pepper

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 35o degrees. Lightly spray baking sheet or loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Combine all ingredients in large bowl and mix well.

Form meat into loaf shape on baking sheet or put in loaf pan. Bake about 40 minutes or until loaf is firm to the touch.

It’s so easy to make that I often make it along with whatever I’m cooking for Sunday night dinner, so that I only have to turn the oven on once. Then I freeze it, and whatever night I get home tired from work and want to reheat it, I put it into the microwave to defrost it, then I put it into the toaster oven at 350 degrees for about ten minutes so it gets that nice crispy outside. Broccoli and mashed potatoes finish off the meal. Barbecue sauce also makes a good accompaniment. Enjoy!

We Have a Pulse

Apparently George Clooney’s return to ER last week gave the show its highest ratings in two years. Oh, George. Give that guy a spin-off!

Me

My friend Katherine was in town from the West Coast and she threw a lovely cocktail party this evening. I have been in a total jeans rut but I actually put on a dress for the occasion so Kitty, you should feel honored! It was at the National Arts Club in Gramercy  — a really incredible building that has been the home of this club for artists and writers for over 100 years. Truly a taste of old New York, which is so good to see alive and kicking.

I think Addison finally ditched her fever. Unfortunately it has not stopped her from waking up before dawn so this whole week I’ve felt slightly out of sorts. My eyes/sinuses feel puffy, and I’m not sure it’s from lack of sleep or allergies kicking in. Yes, spring arrives for real on Friday! It went fast, didn’t it?

Hope you’re all doing well!

Leave a Reply

