What Kales You?

January 27, 2009

Not just another pretty vegetable.

Not just another pretty vegetable.

Many of my friends who do CSAs or other vegetable deliveries direct from local farms complain that when it comes to the fall/winter, they wind up with a lot of kale. I often see the voluptuous bundles of kale sitting on the refrigerated shelf at Whole Foods, with seemingly few takers. Lately, I have read many articles that talk about the many benefits of this vegetable: vitamins A, C, E and K, powerful anti-oxidants, and, like broccoli, it contains high levels of sulforaphane, a chemical believed to fight against cancer. All fantastic, but how does it taste?

Well have I got a kale recipe for you! Even my kids liked this one, and it’s as easy to make as it gets. Take the kale, rinse it, and then chop it roughly, discarding the bottom stems. Take a baking sheet (line it with foil if you want really easy clean up), and spray it with Pam. Put the kale on in a single layer. Spray it with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Put it in the middle of the oven at 375 degrees. It cooks fast, so check it every 5 minutes to make sure it’s not burning, but basically in about 10 minutes or so you’ll get crispy kale, almost like potato chips. Makes a tasty and healthy side dish with turkey burgers, meatloaf – really anywhere you could use a hearty green.

It’s Broadway, Baby

As I mentioned, last night I went to the opening of Hedda Gabler (thanks Vinny!). I can’t say I’m a huge Ibsen fan but I was entertained, and I thought Mary-Louise Parker was good. Liza with a Z and Joan Rivers were both there, and that demographic seemed to enjoy it, for what that’s worth. There’s a certain spark to live theater and I always enjoy going, if only to see how the creative minds behind it put it all together.

Get it Together

Is it just me or did everyone collectively groan when they saw on the front page today that the Republicans are going to block the stimulus plan? Democrat, Republican, I really don’t care; I just want them to get together and get something done that works. And by “works,” I mean for every citizen, not just for the corporations that got us into this mess. Get it together, Washington! These are people’s lives we’re talking about.

I think I am getting a cold and Duane Reade was picked bare of Zicam swabs. Help! Until tomorrow…

One Response to “What Kales You?”


  1. […] So maybe I’ll have to do a follow up post about that. Second place goes to “What Kales You?” from January 27th. Which probably means that people know kale is good for them but […]


Leave a Reply

